The Burdens of Creative Non-Fiction

For the past year, I have been working on a collection of creative non-fiction. As a genre, I love Creative Non-Fiction. It is raw and real. It is the world as perceived by another human being, it is the reality of the human spirit. When I write, I discover more about my life. For example, I recently wrote a story about a war I have been having with a mouse. The story began as a funny little tale about a mouse in my apartment, and turned into the story of myths and how they affect our lives.

I am about three stories deep in the ten story collection, and I am beginning to face a roadblock. I do not find anything in my life interesting.

Interesting problem, isn’t it? I feel that it has to be common. We have lived our lives, we have been present. Our lives are commonplace to us. I have traveled around Europe, been in races, performed on stage, given presentations, and I have a hard time distinguishing the parts of my life that I would like to tell a story about.

I am facing another burden, the inability to sacrifice part of my life. I genuinely do feel this way, that when I write about my life I am giving part of it up. Not only am I making it public, I am separating myself from it. I have to. I need to be a storyteller, not a character. It is difficult for me to do both.

Where do you find your inspiration? What stories are you willing to sacrifice to the muse?

This entry was posted in Storytelling, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Burdens of Creative Non-Fiction

  1. cricketmuse says:

    I often find myself pausing prior to posting what could have been a truly wonderful blog bit. Why? Too personal. I mean, what if someone I do know reads it. So yeah, my daily doings are inspiring, but I practice the art of restraint. Thanks for the follow and I return the appreciation.

Leave a Reply

